Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Turnabout - Review

I've been to the Turnabout dance all four years I have attended HF and this year I can honestly say it was the absolute WORST. Even before the dance started there were problems that filled the air. The original group I was going with got all screwed up because a few couples dropped out and ended up not wanting to go to the dance anymore. So, that left me and two other couples trying to find a bigger group to be with. three girls from Marian Catholic were coming to our dance and they said they would join us with no problem. But last minute they decided to join another group of seniors. My friends and I asked very politely to join but they said they house they were taking pictures at was too small to fit all of, so instead, my dad went out of his way to find a country club for all 24 kids to take pictures at. That still wasn't good enough for those other girls and they decided to tell us that on Saturday morning. That kind put all of us in a shitty mood for the start of the night. Then when we got to the dance the deans were on something crazy about the dress code. They were kicking all the girls out for "inappropriate" dresses. There is a huge difference between being slutty and being classy with cutouts in a dress or the length or plunging neck-line. There are a million body shapes for women and not everyone can fit into the dress that you would like to see on them. My friend Cate had to wear her jacket because her cleavage was showing just a tad bit. She had a sheer neck-line that touched her collarbone and they had an issue with it. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! They also had a problem with the length of my dress, well I had something to say to them about that let me tell you... My dress was designer, BCBG to be exact, not something I picked up from forever21. And it was very flattering on me, but of course the school had a problem with how short it was. Let me put this into perspective, I am a 6 foot tall female with VERY long legs, I do not intend on hiding them either. They told me my dress was too short and I told them "Oh, is it really? Because I play on the varsity volleyball team and I run and dive around the floor in itty bitty spandex that barely cover my butt cheeks and this dress is too short. You've got to be kidding me?" Then I walked my ass right into that dance without anyone else saying a word to me. Another thing that was just terrible was the DJ, like really? What does the fox say? Now why would I want to dance to that... And then when they had a good song like Drunk in Love by Beyonce, they made the DJ turn it off. I guess that's what you get from going to a high school dance... Oh well, its over with, hopefully prom is better.

2 comments:

  1. Yeah I agree with you Mia. This year really bombed everyone's expectations. I am one of the very few that actually read the dress code, and HF staff was totally out of line. If they are going to kick people out for dress code rules, then they need to read it first. Everyone (for the most part) was not breaking the rules.

    ReplyDelete
  2. ok yeah I have to agree on your comments about the dress code , because I had to wear this itchy furry shrug, just because I'm short and happene to have a big bust that fits differently in some dresses than others. I do agree they basically kept the Dj from playing anything good. HF's dance stunk but at least I had a nice date, hopefully prom or collee will be better.

    ReplyDelete